Latest reviews of new albums:
PR: New release from Movie Wave Records



Movie Wave Records is proud to announce its latest limited edition release – Music Not From Man of Steel.

The Founder and President of Movie Wave Records, Bosko Balaban, noted that “we believe we have spotted a real gap in the market here.  While the extraordinarily original score for the new motion picture Man of Steel is receiving a multitude of different releases, we believe that there are consumers out there who actually want to buy music that isn’t a bag of shite.”

Balaban commissioned acclaimed composer Brian Kilkine to write forty minutes of original music – none of which was composed for the motion picture Man of Steel.  Kilkine says that “there has been surprisingly little hype surrounding the music from Man of Steel, despite the fact that all the clips and pre-released tracks suggests that the music has been composed by a small child and performed on keyboards bought from one of the pound shops in Rotherham.”

Even though there are only forty minutes of music, Movie Wave Records has decided to release the material as a three-disc set.  Disc two will feature a five-minute recording of Kilkline taking a shit – a recording which has already been acclaimed as having more musical value than anything heard so far from the real score from Man of Steel.  Disc three will be completely empty.  The outstanding package is rounded out by the exclusive “flipper” cover – you don’t have to buy two versions of the album to get both covers!  You can just choose your favourite.  (Please note: both sides of the “flipper” cover feature precisely the same image.)

It is worth noting that while the rich and famous Kilkline is the only credited composer, much of the music was actually written by very low-paid interns supervised by the unacclaimed Kelvin S. Wheelbarrow.

Copies will go on sale soon.  The first 500 orders placed will receive an exclusive, unsigned edition of the CD.  The remaining copies will all be signed by extreme survival expert Ray Mears.

  1. Mike (Reply) on Thursday 23 May, 2013 at 22:20

    I don’t get it.

  2. Chris (Reply) on Friday 24 May, 2013 at 02:34

    Brilliant! Another Grail crossed off my list. I’m ordering a copy from every retailer just so that one arrives without the tray spindles broken. I’m then ripping each to my computers and then putting each copy in separate bank vaults, just to be safe. Can’t wait for Volume 18,444! Any chance it will be a repress as an “Encore Edition” for those that will no doubt miss out on 18,443? Once my friends know about this it might sell out really quickly, that’s all.

  3. Chris Avis (Reply) on Friday 24 May, 2013 at 06:18

    Epic post, James. I think you need to include a picture of yourself making this face:

    if and when you review the score. Maybe Hans will send you a promo copy 😉

  4. Solaris (Reply) on Friday 24 May, 2013 at 06:39


  5. Spielboy (Reply) on Friday 24 May, 2013 at 12:02

    what? no musical analysis…? no track names…?

  6. ANDRÉ - CAPE TOWN. (Reply) on Friday 24 May, 2013 at 13:18

    Spielboy, why are you surprised?…you decided to introduce the “spoilers” concept [see BANDELERO] into reviewing!! James, I loved the bit about “very low paid interns” churning out 47 seconds of formulaic music – on ancient Moog Synthesizers – that had already been recycled for the 626th time (my interpretation of the subtext). Can’t wait for you to scrutinize our Hans’ score for the new comedy-Western THE LONE RANGER.

  7. MacmIllan Flakes (Reply) on Friday 24 May, 2013 at 13:28

    It should be noted that some of the “very low paid interns” that wrote the bulk of this endeavour were members of jazz-funk castrati group “Spazer McMillan-Man And The Hairy Nipple Seven”.

  8. PT (Reply) on Friday 24 May, 2013 at 22:52

    Woohoo Rotherham! I once bought a keyboard there and still got it.